A vegetarian is one who does not consume any animal flesh.

There are several types of vegetarians. The most common is a lacto-ovo-vegetarian, which means that said person will still consume dairy and eggs. An ovo-vegetarian is one who consumes only eggs; no dairy or meat. A lacto-vegetarian consumes only dairy; no eggs or meat.

Some vegetarians take it further and proclaim themselves as vegan, which means they consume absolutely NO animal products at all. In addition to this, there are raw foodists that eat only plant-based, unprocessed food that is not heated past 116 degrees Fahrenheit. Fruitarians are those who consume only raw, uncooked fruit.

San Francisco is a great city to be in if you are a vegetarian, as nearly every eatery will cater to your dietary needs. Below is a list of restaurants that have several vegetarian options (or proclaim themselves all-vegetarian):

In addition to restaurants, there are several groups and organizations devoted to San Francisco vegetarians. The San Francisco Vegetarian Society has monthly potlucks, and Bay Area Vegans

Nearby LocalWiki regions: Alameda Berkeley Richmond, CA Walnut Creek Concord Vallejo

LocalWiki is a grassroots effort to collect, share and open the world’s local knowledge. We are a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. Learn more.

Except where otherwise noted, this content is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution License. See Copyrights.